The Beatles – Live At Shea Stadium 1965

The Beatles – Live At Shea Stadium 1965

The Beatles at Shea Stadium

The band’s groundbreaking concert for 55,600 screaming New York fans on August 15, 1965. Made as a TV special using 12 cameramen, the film gives a comprehensive picture of what the event was like, including: setting up the stage, The Beatles’ helicopter flyover (they weren’t allowed to land on the baseball field, so they had to land on the World’s Fair building and travel to the stadium in an armored truck), some of the opening acts (Brenda Holloway and the King Curtis Band, Sounds Incorporated), tuning up in the dressing room, and most of the actual Beatles show (two songs were edited for time). Introduced onstage by Ed Sullivan (they had taped an appearance on his show the day before), The Beatles ran across the ball field to the stage in their new, Help!-style beige military jackets to play to what was then the largest crowd ever at a rock ‘n’ roll show. The Beatles give their all to entertain the distant, cheering crowd, occasionally cracking up at the sheer enormity of the event.


1. “Twist and Shout” (excerpt) (John Lennon) 01:03
2. “She’s a Woman” (Paul McCartney) 02:21
3. “I Feel Fine” (John Lennon) 05:04
4. “Dizzy Miss Lizzy” (John Lennon) 07:30
5. “Ticket to Ride” (John Lennon) 10:45
6. “Everybody’s Trying to Be My Baby” (George Harrison) XX:XX (No Live footage of this song exist)
7. “Can’t Buy Me Love” (Paul McCartney) 13:18
8. “Baby’s in Black” (John Lennon and Paul McCartney) 15:54
9. “I Wanna Be Your Man” (Ringo Starr) (at Shea Stadium this song was replaced by “Act Naturally”, Also sung by Starr) 18:32
10. “A Hard Day’s Night” (John Lennon, with Paul McCartney) 21:21
11. “Help!” (John Lennon) 24:20
12. “I’m Down” (Paul McCartney) 26:55

Copyright Disclaimer Under Section 107 of the Copyright Act of 1976, allowance is made for “fair use” for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research.
Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statue that might otherwise be infringing. Non-profit, educational or personal use tips the balance in favor of fair use….
©2011 All credits go to the original creator(s)!

Markalan - Originally from Cincinnati, Ohio, Markalan moved to Pacific Beach in 1994. During his first four years in San Diego, he worked as a photographer for the United States Navy. Over the past decade, he's been behind the bar or turntables in many of San Diego's nightclubs, and venues. He's shared his musical selections with Southern & Baja California, and the Mayan Riviera. During these years, he could be found exchanging his time for vinyl at Groove Records and Siesta Records. 

He often worked for trade, to support his vinyl addiction. He currently owns over 8,000 records. "Listening to my father's albums is when it all began. Flipping through the stacks, cleaning off the LP, placing the needle on the record, reading the lyrics, studying the artwork, and enjoying the rich analog sound. Sure, there are occasional pops & you might have to clean the record. You actually have to flip the record at the end of the side. It's not a play list or program on shuffle. You are present, involved, and engaged in the listening process. 
Please Keep Vinyl Alive & Support Local Artists!" 

Comments are closed on this post.

Visit FeeLit’s Online Store

Connect with FeeLit

Connect with FeeLit

Sign-Up for FeeLit’s Free E-Newsletter

Subscribe Now!
* indicates required

Guest reviews on yelp!